Got my visa!

August 16, 2010 at 1:17 am (Uncategorized)

I received my visa on Wednesday! I’m really excited about this – mostly because it’s right on schedule, which is not what I expected.

The fact that I now have my Visa is yet another stepping stone to me finally realizing that this is really happening. I actually have permission to stay in Hungary for more than 90 days now. EEK!

Many of you may want to ask, “How’s the packing coming along?” “Are you getting better at speaking Hungarian?” “Do you know what you’re going to ship ahead of time, and what you’re going to take on the plane?” I say, “Why worry about such practicalities!? I have loving Austin to worry about!”

Bartley

Barton Springs

That’s right, I’ve spent the last two weeks enjoying Austin as much as I can, and hanging out with my family and the wonderful Bartley. I’ve gone to Barton Springs at least four times in the last week. I went to Second Sunday Sock Hop at Shangri-La on Sunday, and danced the night away. I’ve enjoyed frozen yogurt at the super yummy Yum Yum Frozen Yogurt, twice this week. It doesn’t stop there! I saw Virgin with 10,000 Arrows, a play by Austin playwright Jason Tremblay, at Austin Playhouse, ate at the spectacularly delicious P. Terry’s, grabbed a drink at Red’s Porch, and enjoyed every moment of Circle Mirror Transformation at Hyde Park Theatre.

I guess you could say I’m already getting a bit nostalgic, so I’m trying to spend as much time enjoying the great city of Austin, Texas as I can. I’ll worry about packing later…

19 Comments

  1. steve p said,

    Only two weeks to Hungary!

  2. Evelyn said,

    I was in Budapest just two week ago when we were on vacation. It is such a wonderful city, rich in history and enthusiasm — I am sure you will love it.

    • ellielini said,

      How cool! Glad to hear you approve of Budapest. I’ve heard only good things. I’ll be a little outside of the city, but I hope to go there often.

  3. Evelyn said,

    Thanks for the information

  4. David Hayes said,

    Have fun.

  5. David Hayes said,

    Have fun!
    David

  6. David Hayes said,

    Which do you like best, Buda or Pest?
    David

    • ellielini said,

      Not sure yet! I’ll have to wait and see. Which do you like best?

  7. Irene Lutz said,

    Exciting!

  8. DeJean said,

    I’m so excited for you! I always had a thing about Hungary as a child, reading books by Kate Seredy. It’s a neat culture.

  9. DeJean said,

    Actually, you might want to put in a picture of your visa which doesn’t include all the info — to avoid any potential security problems later on.

    • ellielini said,

      DeJean! Very good point. Thank you for mentioning that! I deleted the pic. It’s also super cool that you had a thing for Hungary as a kid. I didn’t know anything about it until last spring, and I still don’t know that much. That’s going to change very soon! My plan is to take in as much as possible while I’m there. Currently, I’m also going through my Lonely Planet guide very thoroughly, trying to commit as much to memory as possible! It is a fascinating country, with an interesting culture, and unique history.

  10. Beth said,

    Packing well is over-rated. If you forget something, it gives you a good excuse to buy cool Hungarian stuff!

  11. Denise said,

    Had a great time on Saturday meeting your wonderful friends & eating delicious food! Am so glad we were all able to join together in wishing you the best.

  12. Kate said,

    yayyy!

  13. J2 said,

    Good Luck Dear Ellen!

    What an awesome adventure for you. Safe travels and many, many thanks for the wordpress site so that we can keep in touch!!

    Hugs,
    J2
    (Jannette and Jim)

  14. Alex said,

    I miss you Ellen!

    • ellielini said,

      Aww…I miss you too! But don’t worry, I’m coming home for Christmas!

Leave a comment